//
you're reading...
Five questions

Five Questions with Corey Collins

Corey Collins was one of the first few people I interacted with in the DIY music scene here in Plattsburgh. He played a big role in a lot of great thin out this way, and has since moved on to West Chester, PA, although you can still catch him in Plattsburgh from time to time. He recently replied to our Five Questions, here’s what he had to say…

1. Who are you and what do you do?
I’m Corey Collins and I’m a Graphic/Web Designer. I used to live in Plattsburgh and would book shows, make flyers and promote events around town. Now I live in West Chester, PA – about 7 hours away from Plattsburgh. Tons of shows happen in my house, but they all get booked so quickly by my roommates that I haven’t “had to” book or promote a show myself. It’s weird. Things just sort of happen.

2. What does DIY mean to you?
Basically, just staying true to your ideals and doing things on your own terms. DIY doesn’t mean you have to do everything yourself and waste away in a basement printing posters and shirts, burning CDs or dubbing tapes. You can be DIY and still make things happen with your friends and your community. That’s the essence of it all – building strong and lasting relationships with the people around you who have the same ideals and hopes that you have. Above all else, I think it just means that you don’t let anything corrupt what you want to do. In my opinion, a band can be on a major label and still subscribe to DIY ideals. If someone wants to pay them more to do the things they want to do in the way that they want to do them, why turn that away? People involved in music likely do it because they love it, and if they had the chance to ONLY do music and not some shitty sidejob, I think they’d jump at the chance.

3. Why should people choose the DIY method?
It’s just the best way. It’s the way that gives you the most control over what you’re doing because, at the end of the day, YOU are doing DIY. You’re not being told how to do it. That’s just the nature of it – you do it yourself because you’re tired of the way other people are doing it, or because things aren’t happening the way you want them to be. Again, this can be a collaboration and is in many cases, so if things where you live aren’t the way you want them to be, find a group of people with the same thoughts and ideas and build something better.

4. What do you want to get off of your chest right now?
I miss Plattsburgh and I never thought I would. I knew I’d miss my friends when I moved away, but I didn’t think I’d actually miss the place. I just visited there for two weeks, which is the first time I’ve been in Plattsburgh in about a year and a half. Seeing how far the Lumber Jills roller derby team has come and how amazing ROTA is really shook me in the most positive way. It’s refreshing to see so much life in a town that has really wavered in the past. There’s always been these up-and-down periods in Plattsburgh where things are great, lots of shows are happening, people are working together, etc. – and then it somehow falls apart and the city lies dormant for months. Now, though, it seems like things are on the up-and-up and have been for a while. Derby is strong, ROTA is strong and people are taking part in building a better community. It’s an amazing thing to see.

5. Are there any people, places or ideas that you think folks should know about?
(answer lost, sorry)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

